SewExpo 2008

I have just returned from another inspiring SewExpo in Puyallup, WA.  I love going to these shows to see what is new and exciting in the sewing world and to meet so many wonderful people and witness their creativity.

One of the things that I noted of interest was the new Lava thread by Superior threads.  It’s a varigated thread with a very short repeat.  I just had to try it when I got home and it is nice and strong and runs at high speed in my embroidery machines.  It was designed for quilters on long arm machines, but it creates a lovely result on outline style designs done on the embroidery machine.  You can check it out at www.superiorthreads.com.

With the arrival of my first grandson, you can imagine that my attention is easily drawn to fun baby items.  They had the most adorable knit sweater patterns at www.sweaterkits.com as well as the most lucious yarn made of silk in these great varigated colors.  I guess I’ll have to learn how to knit in my free time 🙂 

 I did find some very cute and easy to understand patterns at the SewBaby booth (www.sewbaby.com).  I’ve made the diaper covers and diaper bag so I felt comfortable with purchasing their alphabet applique soft fabric book pattern.  My good friend Jeannine Twigg (also the author of the Embroidery Machine Essentials books) was demo-ing her wonderful Snap Source snap setting gizmo.  Before Charles, I had no use for snaps even though I thought the gizmo was kind of cool 🙂  Now, I can understand why it’s such a popular item (www.snapsource.com) – I like tools that make the job at hand easier!

I’m teaching two hands-on classes in the next month – one at the Sewing Room in Frisco TX (waiting list) and another at Jenny’s Sewing Studio in MD (a few spots still available). More information can be found under the schedule link on my website if you are interested.

Until the next time!

Lisa

Leave a Reply

