Personalized Tote part 1

I keep getting distracted by “life” — and I know I’m not alone in this!  So I’ve decided to write smaller posts and post them one at a time as I get them done instead of one big long one.  This way, when the Milgard window man rings the doorbell to replace the garage window that was shattered by a Flicker bird a couple weeks ago, I can just hit publish and at least part of the project will be posted 🙂  Maybe this will help me get it completed!

So first off, here is the link for the totebag instructions in case I forget to post that later:  Click here   I found the instructions extremely well written with LOTS of pictures. I was multitasking – making two totes at the same time – and the great step-out pictures really kept me in line! The only part that threw me off was the 1/2″ seam allowance that I just couldn’t get used to.  So there was a bit of “reverse sewing” done when attaching the side panels, but besides that, it all went together rather simply!

Rose Impression design collection

I knew that I was going to embroider the pocket, so I cut this piece over-sized so it could be trimmed down.  Based upon the measurement of the pocket, I knew the design should be about 5×7.

I had the perfect design in mind – one of the Rose Impressions designs from SnowLady.  I had stitched out the large ones on the flap of a messenger bag and knew that her style of digitizing the roses would be a perfect compliment for the fabric I had selected from my stash.  Here is a link to the multisized set: Click here

So I had the project selected, and the design selected – now it was time for me to go into the Embrilliance software and start customizing.

merge_sizeSo the first thing I want to do is select the design and open it into my software.  All of the designs are gorgeous, but I was going for a specific “look”.  I knew I wanted to include a name with the design, so I was looking for a “strong corner” that wasn’t too overwhelming.  I also knew I wanted to stitch this in my PES 5×7 which is actually 130x180mm – YES it is important to clarify what machine/format 5×7 hoop I’m choosing because none of the machine formats are actually 5×7 exact OR even the same size.  So I choose the design (shown with a check mark on my Mac) then click on Import to have this design added to my design page in Embrilliance Essentials.  First thing I do is save my project name so that if I get distracted I don’t have to start over from scratch!

Design pageSo here is my design open in Embrilliance Essentials.  Couple things to point out in case you aren’t familiar.  To quickly switch between metric and inches, use the measurement radio buttons on the left of the menu information bar at the top.

The hoop selected as well as the design size is shown at the bottom of the status bar.  When the design resides OUTSIDE the hoop boundary in the design page, you will see a yellow warning highlight over the design size.

The object pane on the right shows the name of the merged stitch file – click on the arrow to the left to expand the design into its color breaks/objects.  It is now really easy to select and delete parts of a design by color – simply click on the color in the object pane for the stitches you want and they are selected in the design page.  When something is selected, it is shown in color and the rest of the design is grayed out.  I did not want the “impression” of the rose, so I selected the gray redwork style object in the object pane and hit the delete key.

Step 1This color is removed from the Object pane on the right.

Its color is no longer listed in the color properties list below.

The stitches are removed from the design page.

The design size is updated at the bottom of the screen.

I want to make sure that I save my work so that I can come back to it later.  Some people like to ask “how often should you save your work?”  My rule of thumb when customizing designs is to save everytime you complete something you “never want to do again”!  Computer glitches happen – the phone rings, the cat jumps on the keyboard, I get sidetracked and forget what I was doing and start another project!  Hitting CTRL+S or Command+S on the keyboard following every step is an easy habit to get into and has saved my bacon many a time!

In fact, right now, Daisy is on alert — looks like the Milgard window guy has arrived!  So I will continue this project in a bit!

Embrilliance_Ad

Leave a Reply

