Personalized Tote Part 2

So now we can continue with the customizing of the design for the front pocket of the tote.  The size of the pocket determines that the design should fit in my 5×7 hoop so I make sure that I have this selected from the properties dialog box.  On my Brother machine, the 5×7 hoop is 130 x 180mm.  Do you have a hard time remembering what your hoop size is in metric? I know everyone likes to work in inches, but they aren’t accurate when it comes to machine embroidery.  If I tried to put a 5″ x 7″ design in my 5×7 hoop – it would not fit.  The inch measurement is just an estimate that is easy to remember.

InEdit hoop name Essentials, you can add to the description of the hoop for easy locating in the future.  Open the properties dialog and under Hoops, choose your format and you will see all the hoops available in a list with their measurements in metric.

Refer to your machine’s manual or the manufacturers website if you are not sure what the measurement size is for your machine’s hoops.

When you select the hoop you want and click Edit, you can modify the name.  I like to keep the metric measurement as part of the name.

So now we have the 5×7 hoop on the screen and the design is kind of placed willy nilly on the design page.  So lets move the design into the hoop and rotate it a bit.  There are a couple of ways to rotate a selection in Essential – freehand using your mouse and the blue rotation mark in the upper right corner of the selection OR using the dialog box with rotation angle.

rotationThe Rotation angle dialog box shown by the blue arrow is GREAT when you want to rotate the selection by a specific amount.  For example you want to create a “four patch” of designs that are 45 degrees rotated from each other.  Its also handy for tiny movements and you don’t want to try and make it work using the mouse.

Since I wasn’t sure what would work, I used the Freehand Rotation tool and played around with rotating the design until I got a pleasant looking corner design.  The beauty about playing with software is that you don’t have to “commit” right now to to angle or the location.  I just rotated the selection to “about there” and now I can move on to adding the name.

So this is a feminine design that matches the floral fabric and I’m making it for my Mom, so I wanted to choose a script-y type font.  I found the perfect one at RiverMill Embroidery — and the best part is that all of her alphabet designs are available in the pre-mapped BX format!  This means when you purchase the alphabet set as a BX file, you just drag and drop it onto your Essentials software and it will be added to your font list.  HOW EASY IS THAT?!  The name of the font is Sweetheart – and yes it is a simply sweet style font!

ViewAbout

So I click on the Lettering tool – ABC is placed in the center of the hoop – and choose the Letter Property page in the lower right.  Here you can change the ABC to my Mom’s name, Lolly, and select  Sweetheart  from the font list.

The ABC is changed to Lolly and now we can start to customize this letter object layout.  I would like the letters to be closer together, so I use the spacing slider to adjust.

I also adjusted the Slant of the letters using this slider.

Now looking at the size of the lettering versus the size of the rose, I decided to shrink the lettering just a bit.  To resize freehand, grab one of the black corners of the selection and drag it smaller.  I don’t mind if some of the letters overlap the design, so again this is a series of size, move the text, maybe rotate the rose a bit more….  this is all part of the creative process when customizing designs.  Sometimes there are exact steps to take, while at other times, it really is just PLAYING with the design in the software 🙂

BigLWhile moving stuff around I decided that I would like the “L” to stand out more by being larger than the other letters.

When a text object is selected, notice the green symbols – adjustors – at the center of each letter.  When you click on the adjustor for the letter “L” notice that you can now resize and rotate this one letter – and the rest of the letters remain untouched.

There are three adjustment selectors for each letter.  We are just going to work with the CENTER green square.

So I made the L larger and then moved it by click holding on the center green selector and snuggling the L in closer to the “olly”.  So again more moving and adjusting – I can really get lost in having fun watch the design change!

Once I got the design layout i wanted, I centered it in the hoop using the center shortcut button on the menu bar.

paletteMy final step in most customizing projects is to check the colors.  Lolly is going to stitch last on top of the rosebud design and I knew I would choose colors based upon the fabric choice.  I originally thought that since I was also using navy blue fabric in the project that I would keep the text this color, but decided that I would rather use the same dark pink from the rose.

I used the current palette to change the design color.

So, I selected the lettering object and clicked on the blue color in the property pane to bring up the thread color dialog box.

Under View select Palettes and choose the Current Page from the pulldown menu if it is not selected.  This will display all the threads that are in the current design – makes it really easy to choose a color that is already in use!

So I select the deep rose color, click OK and my customizing is complete so I can save my work and go to the machine to stitch.

Once the embroidery was finished on the oversized pocket fabric, I removed the tearaway stabilizer from behind and rinsed out the topping.  After pressing from the back side so as not to flatten the embroidery, I  trimmed the pocket to the final dimensions and constructed the tote.

Finished tote

So here is my finished tote!  Hope that you liked this project and found the instructions for customizing the design in Embrilliance Essentials easy to follow.  Once again, here are the links that I mentioned in this project:

The totebag pattern is from The Renegade SeamStress Blog

The alphabet design set is from Rivermill Embroidery

The rose impressions designs are from SnowLady Designs

Embrilliance_Ad

2 Comments on “Personalized Tote Part 2”

  1. This turned out beautiful!!!!

  2. Your design is Looking very good and impressive.


Leave a Reply

