Applique with AlphaTricks

As I am getting ready to write this week’s blog, I realized that I forgot to post this one!  Silly me — too much going on this summer with wildfires in Colorado, visitors and traveling!  No worries – here is the post on the kitty bowl placemats that I created from a bargain I got at the Dollar Store!

Kitty Appliques from www.ADesignbyLyn.com

Kitty Appliques from http://www.ADesignbyLyn.com

First the designs are part of an adorable set of applique kitty designs that were purchased from A Design by Lyn.  I brought the designs into Embrilliance AlphaTricks and added lettering using imported fonts.  This technique is shown in the following video I created and posted to the BriTon Leap YouTube channel.

Once the designs were created and saved, I was ready to stitch them onto the placemats.  As I mentioned, these were a real bargain at the Dollar Store.  If they were $1 a piece, that would be a bargain, but these for 5 for $1 so they really were a great deal.  I know, five is an odd number for a set of placemats, but for my purposes I wasn’t using them as a set so I didn’t care that the dye lots were quite off in each color.  In addition to the colors being a little off, they were not the most on-grain or squared up placemats!  Using a template for placement was necessary and printing is available in the Embrilliance programs.

Printed template from Embrilliance software

Printed template from Embrilliance software

So once I had my crosshair marked I was ready to stitch the design.  This is an applique design, so it stitched the placement line for the first applique fabric section.  I used a bamboo felt for the kitty body and held it in place with a quick spray of Mettler Web Bond adhesive spray – remember less is more so a quick spray goes a long way!

Trimming away the fabric from the stitching line is a BREEZE using the Kai 5130DC blunted tip scissors.  The bend in the handle goes over the hoop very easily.  The blunted/polished tip stops the point from shearing the base fabric and like all KAI scissors, they are sharp all the way to the point!

Kai scissors model 5130DC blunted

Kai scissors model 5130DC blunted

So, that’s the stitching part of the placemats!  For more information on the software used, please click on my link here in this blog post.

Happy Stitching!  Lisa

Click Here for information on AlphaTricks and all of the affordable easy to use Embrilliance products!

Click Here for information on AlphaTricks and all of the affordable easy to use Embrilliance products!

 

One Comment on “Applique with AlphaTricks”

  1. Good post ! Video is very helpful.


Leave a Reply

