The final day to vote with another free design to download! THANK YOU!

Lilly_finalThe final day of voting has arrived and I am so grateful to all of those that have taken the time to vote for my blog.  The internet is a wonderful thing, but unlike presenting in person, its hard to know if your audience understands or even likes the information that you are presenting to them.  I truly appreciate your feedback and will do my best to continue in this manner!

SO – this is Lilly the elephant.  She’s a layered applique design with a couple of 3D items going on 🙂  Her tail is a simple bunco braid that is attached by the applique finishing stitch and she’s got fringe eyelashes!  The fringe is part of StitchArtist Level 2 and I threw that in there because I think it adds a little something to the finished design without going over-board.  Sure you could use this function to create a flapper dress style “fill” but I like to use it as a little bit of wow and it is very simple do do.  Background

But first, Let me show you what the the original photo background looked like.  When you open an image most of the time its in the orientation that we want to work with – but what if it isn’t?  Use the rotation handle in the upper right corner just like you do on any selected object.  So I enlarged the graphic and rotated it so that it was how I wanted to work with it and set the transparency to a lower value so it was less bold on my screen.  I get distracted very easily – squirrel! – so I tend to plan my workspace so I am most productive.

If you look at the first color break in the design, it is a short little run – maybe 5 stitches.  Its only job is to tell me where I need to put the tail down.  Yes, I could have just guessed when the next run stitched which is the applique position – however I do not want to forget that I need the tail!  In a month from now I can load this design to my machine and it will stitch color #1 and I will literally say “OH I almost forgot – I need to put the tail down, where is my yard?”  Since I said this last night and I literally just digitized the design we all know in a month I will have no recollection until I trim the eyelashes and then its too late.

EyelashSo let’s talk about those eyelashes!  This is a StitchArtist Level 2 function as part of the column stitch – its actually a built in style!  The column stitch is one of the most powerful tools when you want to create interesting designs.  It is also how those swirly tatoo style fonts are created.  The angle of the sitches curve or turn with the shape of the object so you may also hear this tool referred to as the “turning angle tool” in your research.

By the way, I am giving to you here, the SIMPLE “this is how you create this exact shape” explanation – so please check out the information in the StitchArtist section of the manual as well as the Embrilliance videos that show all the features and functions of this tool. If you just look at this example, you are getting a shotglass size dose of the 10 gallon drum of information and capabilities of this tool –  so please don’t limit yourself and check it out!

So by selecting the column stitch Left/Right input method, I started on the right and clicked in my top bottom pattern in the order shown alternating top and bottom.  I started on the right because I am used to demonstrating for a group of people and I like for my audience to see what is being created.  It is perfectly OK to start on the left and go right, you just may need to change the Fringe direction.  The direction is dictated by the 1-2 direction.  I wanted the fringe to be loose on the side where the 2 was which is to the right of the 1 so I set it to Fringe Right. The fringe stitch is a satin stitch that has a locking running stitch on one side – this is what holds the top stitches in place in this case just like false eyelash glue 🙂

Lilly_Start  So how does this work at the machine?  I’ve stitched my design completely.  This photo does not have the finishing stitch done on the ear because I was running out of camera battery and wanted to get it all photographed. And yes I have navy bobbin thread in the machine because I was too tired to go get another bobbin plus the navy shows up nice against the white stabilizer 🙂 Laugh with me – its how I roll!

So the way I like to create the fringe – and remember my way is not the only way, we flip over the hoop and with sharp thin blade scissors trim JUST the bobbin thread for these stitches.  Pictured here are the super thin and sharp Kai 5100DC scissors.  They have a double curved handle so they are great going over the hoop for cutting jumps while your fabric is still Lilly_Backin the hoop (between color changes is when I trim).  This very thin blade is also perfect for sliding right underneath the bobbin stitches and cutting them cleanly.

The only threads you want to cut is the thread that is the underside of the satin stitch.  DO NOT cut the running stitch as that is the only thing that is holding the loose threads in place!  Be careful not to impale the fabric when using sharp scissors – I don’t even cut the stabilizer.

And if you have used a tearaway stabilizer for your project just be careful when you tear it away from the backside of areas like this.  I’ve not had any fringe unravel on me after the fact but you don’t need to be giving it any excuse to misbehave.  If you are a afraid of future wear and tear – a drop of fray check at either end should give you piece of mind.  So once you carefully trim the bobbin stitches, flip over the project and carefully run your fingernail over the column stitch and the loops will pop up!

Lilly_eyeAnd here is a tilted side view of Lilly’s long and flirty eyelashes!  I wanted a soft look which is why I only cut the bobbin thread.  You can also cut the top thread on the fringe side (opposite the side of the run stitch) and they single threads will not be looped so they may have a more wild or organic look.

So here are the design files for today’s blog post.  I hope that you enjoyed the information presented during this fun week of voting!  No matter the outcome at midnight tonight – I thank you for your very visual support and appreciation of what I do!  You have each made me feel very special – thank you!

….and if this is your first time to my blog on the final day of voting here’s the link:
Craftsy Blogger Awards - Vote for Me badge

My blog has moved to www.Sew-Bubbles.com - please visit for the most up to date posts!

