BERNINA Sewpreneur Interview with Olivia Omega

A couple of months ago I was contacted by a colleague of mine, Olivia Omega on behalf of Bernina USA to be interviewed for their new series on being a “Sewpreneur” for their blog, WeAllSew.com.  Yes, I was just a tad bit excited about the idea.  Sewpreneur-feature1

A little background info – I met Olivia at the Sewing Summit in Salt Lake City, UT at a time when I realized that I needed to make some changes in my business life.  That sounds kind of funny now.  Machine Embroidery is my passion and is deeply seated in my everyday life and sometimes it is difficult to say when I am “working” and when I am enjoying my hobby!  But I was ready to make some changes and take a step outside of my very familiar comfort zone.

After absorbing a presentation that Olivia gave on developing your brand, I realized that I had become more than just a software company representative.  By stepping out on my own, I now had an opportunity to take all my machine embroidery experience and knowledge and share it with others as “Lisa Shaw” – be my own brand.  It was kind of scary but I’ve always been attracted to a challenge every since my high school guidance counselor said that I wouldn’t get accepted to Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI).  Yes, I did.  Yes, I went.  Yes, I asked myself rather quickly, “what on earth did I get myself into?!?!” and figured out a way to make this decision the best one possible for me – no regrets!

It has been an exciting journey and I’d love to share with you this interview. Yes, I even share a couple tips and tricks with my goofy sense of humor 🙂  Its just a little peak into my life and why I do what I do.  Thanks for joining me and be sure to check out the other interviews – such a wealth of information shared by some very talented women!

Enjoy!  Lisa

2 Comments on “BERNINA Sewpreneur Interview with Olivia Omega”

  1. Eugena Pearl says:

    Great intro for the interview. Your pix is beautiful. Missing you tons.

    Sent from my iPad

    >

  2. I thoroughly enjoyed watching your interview! You are amazing in terms of your business sense and the creativity to make it all work. I wish I had half of your energy…. We don’t need to go there!
    I find your story inspiring and empowering. It is the kind of story I think every woman in our realm of small home based businesses should hear. I want to thank you for the part you have played in my opportunities, and I wish you well on the journey! Ride the wave my friend, wherever it may take you!


My blog has moved to www.Sew-Bubbles.com - please visit for the most up to date posts!

